top of page

080619: Chickenpox Tips

Updated: Feb 3, 2022

HAPPY MID YEAR!. So I've finally contracted Chickenpox/VZV for the first time, and I feel like it is my duty to share my experience of getting it as an adult. Please take note that I am not an expert, and these tips may or may not be testified. I still swear by it!~ ;)


Most importantly, go to the doctor and get your medicines as soon as possible. They are pricey, and you're going to have to buy quite an amount. Luckily, for someone who can't swallow pills, they are water soluble too. And then just tell your boss you're gonna be absent for quite a while.


Once at home, I realized I naturally got into a basic self-care routine: Cleanse, Tone, Moisturize. Let me break it down for you.


Cleanse


  • Eat your medicine 5 times a day is no joke, but the somewhat flexible timing helps. Take it within your active hours, so that you don't have to wake in the early morning or try to be up on late nights. I did 12, 5, 10, 3 and 8.

  • Use mouthwash [Personal choice: Colgate Plax Fruity Fresh] There will be ulcers in your mouth too, making it hard to brush your teeth. So I relied on my non-alcohol mouthwash. It claims that it "kills over 99% of Bacteria". Maybe that's why my mouth situation got significantly better rather progressively.


Tone [Maintain]


  • Drink water [Personal choice: Fiji] I hate to drink plain water too!. Kind of bougie but I find Fiji water the most drinkable pick that won't break the bank. Thankfully, I've ordered them in cartons. Chugging 1.5litres a day (the other .5 to complete 2litres/day quota being tea), made me feel a lot better. If you live in a hot and humid environment like I do, I think it kept my body cool without having to rely on (possible dirty) air-conditioning.

  • Use lipbalm [Personal choice: QV Lip Balm] Also had these on hand because I have sensitive lips. On waking hours, I tried my best to keep my lips protected so that it won't get worse. Smallest part of the body that I can control, biggest boost in comfort level once it got better despite the rest of me still healing in progress.


Moisturize [Repair]


  • Eat eggs [Personal choice: scrambled eggs ] A "chicken" virus eats you and what do you do?. Eat their children. Just kidding.. or not. With any skin problems, my lips obviously took the worst hit. Even when I was at the doctor's office, it had obviously spread to my lips while the blister spots on my body were sparse. Honestly, I took up this tip a while ago while my lips were in randomly dry and unhealthy, so I'm thankful to whoever that shared this. Somehow, it helps.

  • Create a comfort zone [Personal choice: baggy clothing and good friends] Definitely going to take some time to heal, and being in quarantine sucks!! Find yourself things to do to keep yourself occupied. Otherwise, you'll keep thinking about the blisters and the itch. Lather calamine lotion once a while, and surround yourself with good vibes to stay positive. Sleep as much as you can.


That's about it!. I'm finishing up my quarantine period as I type this. Still remember the fatigue, fever, and general feeling of unwellness when it all began!. If you haven't gotten it, maybe you can consider getting vaccinated. You can choose to heed all or none of these tips. As with everything else, it too shall pass so don't dwell on it too much :)


Thank you and wishing you good health!~ ^^ \m/


EZTS8 <3

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page